Skip navigation

I’m launching a simple Web 2.0 website sometime soon, whatever “Web 2.0” really means. My budget for the entire development of this website is $0. There is just 1 person working on it (me). I have a hosting budget of $300USD. I have no education or experience in business or marketing. I am still studying Software Engineering at University, which has a high workload at the moment.

That is sounding incredibly ridiculous, and I haven’t even told you what the website is about!

However, I’m not going to reveal what the website is about yet. What I’ll reveal is that launch day deadline I set myself is rolling towards me like a freight train and the website is nowhere near complete. What also matters is that this website will have a 99% chance of totally failing. By “failing”, I don’t mean it from a technical viewpoint, but from a business viewpoint, i.e. the site will not attract visistors.

“I will reveal new details about the progress of the website on a daily basis, and I hope you can follow me on a journey that began with the first step a few months ago.”

You may wonder. If this guy is so disillusioned, why is he still working on the website when the odds are so improbable? Is he crazy? Possibly. This is going to sound cliched, but I’m doing this because I’m passionate about it. I love building things, I love building websites. I’m not good at it, and I’m a slow learner. But the passion always shines through. So, in the unlikely case that the website does succeed, great! But if it doesn’t, I wouldn’t have lost anything. I will have gained a significant amount of knowledge and experience.

In any case, I am working on the website as if it will be a tremendous success. If I place myself in the mentality that “my projects will never ever succeed”, then I will never see a single success in my life.

I’ll reveal new details about the progress of the website on a daily basis, and I hope you can follow me on a journey that began with the first step a few months ago.

6 Comments

  1. Good luck! $300 sounds like plenty for a hosting budget, check out webhostninja.com and you’ll find plenty of hosting for a lot less than that. And dont worry about failing, just make sure you learn something if you do fail, so you can get it more right the next time 🙂

  2. If you need help on UI or Marketing of the site do let me know I think I can help. No Strings attached.

  3. @Andrew Harcher:
    Thanks very much for the encouragement and the link 🙂 webhostninja.com seems to be an awesome site

    @chirax:
    I have no education nor experience in marketing so any help would be welcome!

  4. Let me know what help I can be of. I can work from Simple Logo’s to Business Plan and everything in between. 🙂

  5. @chirax:

    I’m most concerned about getting enough users to the site to achieve that “critical mass”. I guess I just need some info on stuff like market research and positioning 🙂

    Perhaps I can get to you on MSN or e-mail?

  6. You can mail me chiraxATgmailDOTcom.


Leave a Reply

